Frustrations with Roasting Chestnuts

Chestnuts are a wonderful nut. Roasted, they are warm and meaty and full of nutrition. But I’ve found them rather fickle. Cut an “x” onto the surface of the nuts’ shells, stick them in the oven at 350 F for about half an hour, and you get something edible. You’ve got to crack them out of their shells while they’re still warm, but don’t do it right away your you’ll be playing hot potato trying not to burn your fingers. This is a recipe worth trying.

Lately though, I’ve been finding a third to half of my chestnuts come out burned, while the rest are fine. It’s preventing me from enjoying all of the lovely goodness that is warm, spiced chestnuts, and I protest. There’s a limited season for these things and I want to enjoy them to the fullest. So, chestnuts, please stop burning. I want to consume you all.

I ate all of my remaining chestnuts yesterday, so on this Happy Thanksgiving, I’ll have to turn to my precious chanterelle mushrooms, which are divine. And I don’t say that sort of thing about mushrooms.

Leave a Reply

